You can’t take it with you…

Koala

I can't face it.

The most (potentially) exciting piece of news I’ve ever received came on Friday – the manager from one of my company’s offices in Australia wants to hire me. Pending approval of the regional manager, I could be off on a 24 month contract to the land of beaches and kangaroos.

This is wonderful. This is amazing… This is going to force me to make some pretty tough decisions.

You see, I’ve been living with my parents because I knew that I wanted to be able to pick up and leave. This makes it a lot easier – no lease, no furniture. However, today I was given the mandate that if/when this approval comes through, my parents want everything that I own out of their house when I go. This means that if it’s not coming with me, it’s going elsewhere – charity, sold, etc.

I realize this sounds shallow, but I have a lot of stuff that’s been around for a while and I’m attached to it. It’s a little daunting to think that it all must go within (potentially) the next 8 weeks. There’s my CD collection that I’ve been building since I was in grade 6. There are a ton of books. There are old toys. There’s a ton of clothes and shoes that I simply won’t have room for. I need to condense myself into several boxes, and at the current moment this is making me feel overwhelmed.

Books are heavy, making shipping hard, but I’ve built up a lovely collection of fine art books. To replace it, I’m sure it wouldd run me in the neighbourhood of $500+. There are picture frames, ornaments, and many other things with sentimental value. Sitting here, I’m having a bit of a freak out knowing I need to get rid of it.

It’s silly that I’m finding the prospect of shedding what will probably amount to 80% of my personal goods more intimidating than moving halfway around the world. I know this. But here I am writing about saying goodbye rather than hello to a new life.

This entry was posted in Life Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You can’t take it with you…

  1. TurnJacson says:

    I’d say if you knew anyone in Aus… I’d start shipping boxes once a week to their address.

    On the other hand the good thing about moving is you get to shed the old, and only move forward with the important stuff.

Leave a Reply

